All articles
Shipping and delivery

Cash on delivery in Europe: how to set it up and when it pays

Cash on delivery is rare in Scandinavian online stores and still widely offered in Lithuania and Poland. Whether you need it depends on where you sell; what it costs depends on your carrier, and on how many parcels come back.

Updated 6 November 202615 min read
A hand holding a 100 euro banknote

The short version

  • No reliable figure exists for the share of online orders paid on delivery in the Baltics or Poland. Market-data firm ECDB counts 64.9% of Lithuanian and 60.7% of Polish online stores offering COD, against below 10% in Scandinavian and Western to Northern European markets - stores, not orders, with no method or data period published. S1
  • Published COD fees: DPD Eesti €1.80 per parcel plus 1% of the amount, Smartposti in Estonia €1.05 plus 1.5% plus VAT, InPost PLN 1.50 net for amounts up to PLN 5,000. On a €50 order, DPD Eesti's fee comes to about €2.83 with its November 2026 surcharge. S3,S4,S6,S10
  • The money arrives on the carrier's schedule: once a week at DPD Lietuva and Venipak, within five working days of the payment at InPost, and weekly or on the next bank day at Smartposti, depending on how the customer paid. S5,S9,S11,S6
  • A refused COD parcel is paid for both ways. InPost charges 100% of the shipping price for the return and refunds neither the shipping nor the COD fee: PLN 30.60 net for a size A locker parcel before fuel and VAT. DPD Eesti charges 75% of the initial transport price for the return. S10,S11,S4
  • Shopify adds COD as a manual payment method and leaves orders Pending until you mark them paid; WooCommerce sets COD orders to Processing and can offer COD only on the shipping methods you choose. S14,S16
  • Not every locker can take a COD payment. InPost returns a COD parcel sent to a point that cannot collect it, for a fee; Smartposti takes card or payment-link payments at its lockers, and Omniva in-app payments since June 2026. S11,S6,S12

Cash on delivery (COD) means the customer pays when the parcel is handed over or collected, and the carrier passes the money on to you. Lietuvos paštas's rules for business customers define a COD item as “pašto siunta, įteikiama gavėjui, kai jis sumoka siuntėjo nurodytą pinigų sumą” - a postal item handed to the recipient when they pay the amount the sender set. S13 For the shop, that brings three costs a payment taken at checkout does not have: a carrier fee, a wait for the money, and a parcel that comes back when the customer does not pay.

This article is for shops selling in Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and Poland. Fees and terms are quoted from each carrier's own pages as checked on 5 November 2026; where a carrier publishes no figure, the article says so rather than estimating one.

Where cash on delivery still matters

What share of online orders is paid on delivery has no good answer for this region: the figures that circulate trace back to vendor blogs or secondhand summaries of paid reports, none with a method that could be followed to its source. The closest usable number measures something else, the share of online stores that offer COD.

Online stores that offer cash on delivery

  • 64.9%

    Lithuania

    Share of online stores offering COD, according to ECDB. S1

  • 60.7%

    Poland

    Share of online stores offering COD, according to ECDB. S1

  • 85.6%

    Greece

    Share of online stores offering COD, according to ECDB. S1

  • Below 10%

    Scandinavian, Western and Northern Europe

    ECDB: these markets “tend to offer CoD at a percentage below 10%”. S1

ECDB is a market-data firm. Its article of 3 June 2025 counts stores that offer COD, not orders paid that way, gives no data period, sample or method, and has no figure for Estonia or Latvia. S1

If 64.9% of Lithuanian online stores offer COD, shoppers there will often look for it, but the figure says nothing about how many choose it, and ECDB does not say how it counted. S1 Treat it as a direction, not a forecast.

The European Central Bank's consumer payment survey cannot fill the gap either. SPACE 2024 covered 40,981 respondents in 18 euro-area countries, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia among them, but where a shopper ordered online and paid the courier or paid on pickup, the survey recorded it as a point-of-sale payment, not an online one. S2 COD disappears into the in-shop figures. Poland is outside the euro area and not covered.

What the carriers are building says more than any survey. Omniva changed COD at its parcel machines in June 2026 so the customer pays in the Omniva app, which lets COD parcels go to machines without a payment terminal S12; Smartposti in Estonia takes COD payments at both its touchscreen and its keypad lockers S6; InPost's terms list four ways to pay for a COD parcel, cash among them. S11 That is investment, not a usage figure, and reading it as a sign that carriers expect COD to stay is our inference.

What the carrier charges, and when you get paid

COD is an additional service on top of the shipping price, ordered on your business contract. Of the carriers checked, three publish a fee. DPD Lietuva and Venipak publish how they pay out but not what they charge S5,S9, and the pages checked for Omniva and LP EXPRESS gave neither, so ask your account manager.

Published COD terms, checked 5 November 2026
CarrierFeeMaximumHow the customer paysWhen you are paid
DPD Eesti€1.80 per parcel + 1% of the COD amount S3Not statedBank card, except American Express, to the courier or at a DPD parcel locker; Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania S3Not stated
DPD LietuvaNot published; ordered through your DPD manager S5€3,000 by card, €1,000 in cash S5Cash or card on delivery S5Once a week S5
Smartposti (Estonia)€1.05 + 1.5% per payment made in Estonia, plus VAT S6Not statedCard to the courier, card at touchscreen lockers, payment link at keypad lockers S6Once a week; next bank day for payment-link payments S6
VenipakNot published S9Not statedCash or card on delivery; Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia S9Once a week S9
InPost (Poland)PLN 1.50 net, business list price S10PLN 5,000 S10Pay by Link, InPost Mobile, cash, or card at a terminal at a branch or with the courier S11Within five working days of the payment S11

Smartposti adds VAT to its fee and InPost's is net of VAT; DPD Eesti's page does not say. Fuel and other surcharges are not included. These are published terms; a negotiated contract can differ.

What that means on a €50 order

Worked through for a €50 COD order at published prices - our arithmetic, not the carriers': DPD Eesti's fee is €1.80 plus €0.50, or €2.30. Its energy and CPI surcharge, 23.06% for November 2026, applies to additional services as well as shipping, which takes the fee to about €2.83. S3,S4 DPD Eesti also charges a fuel surcharge fixed at 23%; its page does not say whether that applies to additional services, so it is left out, which may understate the fee. S4 Smartposti's fee is €1.05 plus €0.75, or €1.80 plus VAT. S6 InPost's is PLN 1.50 whatever the amount, up to PLN 5,000. S10 A percentage fee grows with the basket and a flat one does not, so the gap widens on large orders.

Then there is the wait. Unlike a payment taken at checkout, COD money arrives on the carrier's schedule, shown in the table's last column. S5,S6,S9,S11 Smartposti also bills its 1.5% on a monthly invoice rather than deducting it from the payout. S6 On a weekly schedule, money from an early-week delivery can wait most of a week plus bank time - our reading of the schedules, not a carrier figure.

A hand holding a bank card to a portable card terminal
Paying by card at a portable terminal.

What a refused parcel costs

A COD order is not paid until the parcel is handed over, so a customer who changes their mind can simply not pay or not collect. The carrier then sends the parcel back, and the published terms charge you for both trips.

  • InPost returns a parcel that the recipient refuses or does not collect - a locker parcel is held for 48 hours - and charges “100% of the main service price” for the return. If the parcel is not picked up, the shipping, COD and cover fees are not refunded. S10,S11
  • DPD Eesti lists refusing the shipment and not collecting it from a parcel locker among the causes of a failed delivery, and charges 75% of the initial transport price for the return. S4
  • Smartposti charges business customers for returns “based on the same price list that applies when sending parcels”. S6
  • Lietuvos paštas keeps an uncollected item for 30 calendar days and then sends it back; for a domestic parcel the return is charged at the domestic parcel tariffs then in force and added to the sender's invoice (“įtraukiamas į siuntėjui išrašomą sąskaitą”, added to the invoice issued to the sender). S13

Return terms for DPD Lietuva, Omniva, Venipak and LP EXPRESS were not found on their public pages; they will be in your contract. For the three carriers with published terms, here is one refused parcel at list prices.

One refused COD parcel at list prices (our arithmetic)
InPost locker, size ASmartposti locker, size S, within EstoniaDPD Eesti
Outbound shippingPLN 14.55 S10€2.57 S7100% of the transport price
COD feePLN 1.50, not refunded S10,S11Not stated whether charged when no payment is made S6Not stated whether charged
ReturnPLN 14.55 (100% of the main service price) S10€2.57 (same price list as sending) S6,S775% of the initial transport price S4
Total before surcharges and VATPLN 30.60€5.14175% of the outbound transport price
Surcharges on topFuel fee 13% S10Fuel surcharge 4.15% from 1 November 2026 S8Fuel 23% and energy and CPI 23.06% for November 2026 S4

Net business list prices: Smartposti's contract price list valid from 1 February 2026 and InPost's from 1 March 2026. A negotiated contract can differ. DPD Eesti publishes no base price on the pages checked, so its column is a ratio. Packaging, handling time and any damage to the returned goods are not included.

So on these three carriers the two trips cost between 1.75 and 2 times the outbound shipping price, before any COD fee and surcharges - our arithmetic on their published terms S4,S6,S10 - and that is before the packaging and the time spent putting the item back on the shelf. The real cost of returns covers that second half.

When COD pays for itself

Whether that is worth it turns on two numbers only your own orders can give you: how many COD buyers would not have bought at all without it, and how many of them refuse. For the orders COD wins, it pays while the refusal share stays below m ÷ (m + R), where m is your margin on an accepted order after shipping and fees, and R is the cost of one refused parcel. With a hypothetical €12 margin and €6 refusal cost, the break-even is 12 ÷ 18, or 66.7%. For orders that would have been paid at checkout anyway, COD adds only cost: the fee, the wait and the refusals. This is arithmetic with made-up inputs, not a benchmark; no carrier, regulator or independent study found for this article publishes a COD refusal rate.

Setting it up on Shopify

Shopify treats COD as a manual payment method, alongside money orders and bank transfers: the customer chooses it at checkout, and you record the payment yourself once the money reaches you. S14

  1. 1

    Add the payment method

    In the Shopify admin, go to Settings > Payments and, under Payment providers, select the manual payment method Cash on Delivery (COD). S14

  2. 2

    Tell the customer what to expect

    Fill in Additional details, which appear at checkout, and Payment instructions, then activate the method. S14 Say whether your carrier takes card as well as cash.

  3. 3

    Mark orders paid when the money arrives

    A COD order is marked Pending on the Orders page. When the carrier's payout arrives, open the order and mark it as paid. S14 The carrier's payout report makes the matching easier: DPD Lietuva emails one listing amounts, parcel numbers and consignees, and Smartposti issues one every Wednesday for the previous week. S5,S6

  4. 4

    Decide who sees it

    To hide or rename COD for some orders, Shopify's route is a payment customization app from the Shopify App Store, set up under Settings > Payments > Payment customizations. It needs at least the Basic plan, and custom-built customization apps need Shopify Plus. S15 Which conditions you can use depends on the app.

“You aren't charged third-party transaction fees for manual payments,” Shopify's help centre says. S14 The same page does not describe a way to add a COD surcharge, so if you want one, check what your payment customization app supports rather than assuming it can.

The carrier side is separate: whatever creates your shipping labels has to know which orders are COD and for how much.

Setting it up on WooCommerce

WooCommerce has a Cash on Delivery payment method among its offline payments. S16

  1. 1

    Turn it on

    Go to WooCommerce > Settings > Payments > Take offline payments, enable Cash on Delivery and click Manage. S16

  2. 2

    Write what the customer sees

    Set the Title, Description and Instructions. S16

  3. 3

    Limit it to methods that can collect

    Use Enable for shipping methods to choose “which shipping methods and rates will offer COD”, and decide whether to Accept for virtual orders. S16 This is where you keep COD off any shipping method whose carrier or lockers cannot collect the payment.

  4. 4

    Complete orders only after payment

    WooCommerce sets COD orders to Processing “until payment is collected”. Confirm the money has arrived before setting an order to Completed. S16

The core settings above include no fee. For one, WooCommerce's documentation points to a separate extension, Advanced Cash on Delivery with Fee. S16

Cash on delivery to a parcel locker

Paying at a locker works differently on each network, and that decides which lockers you can offer a COD customer.

  • InPost: the customer pays no later than collection, by Pay by Link, in the InPost Mobile app, in cash, or by card at a terminal at an InPost branch or with the courier. Some lockers and service points take COD only at certain times or not at all, and a COD parcel sent to one of them comes back to you, for a fee. S11
  • Smartposti (Estonia): at a touchscreen locker the customer pays by bank card on the machine; at a keypad locker they get a payment link by SMS or email and pay by bank link or card. S6
  • Omniva: since June 2026 the customer pays a COD parcel in the Omniva app before collecting it, which lets COD parcels go to parcel machines without a payment terminal, community parcel machines included. S12
  • DPD Eesti: COD can be paid when collecting from a DPD parcel locker, by bank card except American Express. S3

So the locker list at checkout matters more for COD orders than for prepaid ones. A picker that shows every locker can send a COD customer to one that cannot take the payment, and on InPost's terms that parcel comes back at your cost S11 - our reading of how the two meet. Showing only COD-capable points once the customer has chosen COD avoids it. How to put lockers in the checkout at all is covered in parcel lockers at checkout.

Cutting refused parcels

No source checked for this article measures COD refusal rates, so what follows is practice, not a benchmark.

  • Measure it per country and per carrier. Your refusal share is the one input the break-even above needs. Count refused and uncollected COD parcels every month.
  • Know the collection window. InPost holds a locker parcel for 48 hours, with a reminder before the time runs out S11; Lietuvos paštas keeps an item for 30 calendar days. S13 On a short window, a slow customer becomes a return.
  • Confirm large orders before you ship. A message asking the customer to confirm a high-value COD order costs less than shipping it both ways.
  • Offer COD only where it can be collected. Limit it to the shipping methods and lockers that take payment, so no parcel comes back because the point could not collect. S11,S16
  • Set your own ceiling. DPD Lietuva caps COD at €1,000 in cash and €3,000 by card, and InPost at PLN 5,000 S5,S10; your limit can sit lower if expensive orders are the ones that come back.
  • Make prepaid the easy choice. Show card and bank payments before COD; Shopify's payment customization apps can reorder payment methods. S15

Where most stores offer COD, shoppers will look for it; where few do, it mainly adds a fee, a wait and the chance of a parcel coming back. The numbers that decide it are in your own orders and your carrier contract, not in market surveys.

Questions merchants ask

Sources

Every figure on this page traces to one of the sources below, checked on 6 November 2026. Where a widely-quoted statistic could not be traced to a primary source, it was left out rather than repeated.

  1. S1Cash on delivery is most used in Middle and Central European ecommerce - ECDB, 3 June 2025; share of online stores offering COD, method not described
  2. S2Study on the payment attitudes of consumers in the euro area (SPACE) - 2024 - European Central Bank, December 2024
  3. S3Additional services - DPD Eesti, no date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  4. S4Surcharges - DPD Eesti, November 2026 rates; checked 5 November 2026
  5. S5Delivery to private customers (B2C) - DPD Lietuva, no date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  6. S6Additional services - Smartposti (Estonia), no date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  7. S7Parcel delivery price list for contractual clients - Smartposti (Estonia), valid from 1 February 2026
  8. S8Fuel surcharge - Smartposti (Estonia), rates from 1 November 2026
  9. S9Cash on Delivery (C.O.D) - Venipak, no date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  10. S10Services pricelist InPost Paczkomat® 24/7 (PDF) - InPost, effective from 1 March 2026
  11. S11Terms and Conditions of InPost Paczkomat® 24/7 Service Provision (PDF) - InPost, valid from 10 November 2026; checked 6 November 2026
  12. S12Cash-on-Delivery Payments Now Available in the Omniva App - Omniva, 19 June 2026
  13. S13Pašto paslaugų teikimo sutartiniams naudotojams taisyklės, Nr. TAI-17 (rules for contractual users, PDF) - Lietuvos paštas, version 2, no effective date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  14. S14Manual payment methods - Shopify Help Center, no date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  15. S15Customizing payment methods and delivery options at checkout - Shopify Help Center, no date shown; checked 5 November 2026
  16. S16Cash on Delivery (documentation) - WooCommerce, no date shown; checked 5 November 2026

Fulfill 50 free orders every month - carriers, labels and returns included.

Start for free