All articles
Software and tools

The best shipping apps for Shopify stores in Europe

Most shipping-app roundups are written for American stores. Here is the European version, judged on what decides a European shipping setup and checked against each vendor's own pages.

Updated 6 November 202614 min read
A plain kraft box on a white surface

The short version

  • Start with where you ship from, not with features. Sendcloud fully supports shipping from eight European countries, and five more on conditions, none of them Baltic S1; Shopify Shipping sells labels in seven European countries, with no Baltic or Nordic carrier. S2
  • Whose contract the label is printed on is the main split. Packlink PRO, Boxtal and Shopify Shipping sell their own rates; Sendcloud's free plan ships “only using Sendcloud’s rates”; ShippyPro supports your own contracts on every plan; OrderKrab sells no labels at all. S1,S2,S3,S4,S5,S6
  • Where the locker picker appears depends on your Shopify plan as much as on the app. Carrier-calculated shipping comes with Advanced and Plus, or Grow on annual billing or as an add-on S7; below that, Sendcloud and Outvio move pickup-point selection to the thank-you page, after payment. S8,S9
  • Cash on delivery is carrier- and country-specific. Market-data firm ECDB counts 64.9% of Lithuanian and 60.7% of Polish online stores offering it S10, yet Sendcloud supports it only on a direct contract, within and between Spain, Italy and France or from them to Portugal. S11
  • Per-label fees compound. Sendcloud charges €0.07 to €0.10 per label on top of €28 to €639 a month, plus €0.15 per label above each plan's monthly cap - €177 a month on Growth at 1,000 labels on annual billing, before postage. S1
  • Track records differ by an order of magnitude. On 13 October 2026: Packlink PRO 4.8 from 928 Shopify App Store reviews, Sendcloud 4.5 from 513, ShippyPro 4.5 from 78, Outvio 4.7 from 28, OrderKrab 5.0 from 21. S3,S12,S13,S14,S15

Many “best shipping app for Shopify” lists are written for an American store, with USPS discounts in the first paragraph. None of that decides anything in Kaunas, Lyon or Poznań. What does is where you ship from, which carriers your customers expect, whether they can pick a parcel locker before paying or pay the courier in cash, and whose contract the label is printed on. This list is judged on those.

How we judged them

  • Where you ship from. Several platforms support a fixed list of origin countries. This ends more shortlists than price does.
  • Whose contract the label is on. Resold rates mean labels on day one with nothing to sign; your own contract means your price, your claims and no margin on postage. The trade-off is in Aggregator rates or your own carrier contract.
  • Carriers in your markets. The national networks your customers choose, not the headline count: Omniva, LP Express, Venipak, Smartposti and DPD in the Baltics, InPost in Poland, PostNord and Posti in the Nordics.
  • Lockers before payment. On Shopify this depends on your plan: carrier-calculated shipping comes with Advanced and Plus, or Grow as an add-on or on annual billing S7, and on Basic, Sendcloud says customers “choose their service point after payment, on the Thank You page”. S8 See How to add parcel lockers to your Shopify checkout.
  • Cash on delivery. Market-data firm ECDB counts 64.9% of Lithuanian and 60.7% of Polish online stores offering it, against under 10% in Scandinavian and Western-to-Northern European markets - stores, not orders, with no further method given. S10
  • Pricing model. Subscription, per-label fee, per-order fee, or a margin inside the postage.
  • Returns and printing. Return labels, a returns portal, labels straight to a label printer.
  • Track record. Shopify App Store rating and review count, dated.

Left off: ShipStation and Easyship, US companies whose Shopify listings name USPS, UPS and FedEx but no EU national postal operator S16,S17; Shiptheory, built around UK carriers S18; and Packeta, whose own integrations page lists no Shopify plugin - the Shopify apps for it are third-party. S19

The shortlist at a glance

Nine tools on the criteria that decide a European setup
ToolWhose ratesShips from / carriersLockers on ShopifyCODSoftware fee, 1,000 parcelsApp Store
Packlink PROTheirs; one own carrier on Plus S310 Western European countries listed S20Not statedNot stated€0 on Free; paid in the label price S34.8 (928), since 2020
SendcloudTheirs on Free; yours or theirs on paid plans S18 countries, 5 more on conditions; none Baltic S1Thank-you page on Basic; checkout from Grow with carrier-calculated shipping S8Own contract; ES, IT, FR only S11€177 on Growth S14.5 (513), since 2015
ShippyProYours, every plan S5190+ carriers, incl. DPD LT, InPost PL S5,S21,S22At checkout; per-plan detail not stated S5Per carrier S23$233 flat S134.5 (78), since 2017
OutvioYours S24; its own rates not stated130+, incl. Omniva, Venipak, InPost S14,S25Thank-you page; checkout on Plus S9Not statedPer order; not published S144.7 (28), since 2021
OrderKrabYours only S623, incl. DHL Express, FedEx, UPS, GLS S26Checkout on Grow yearly; thank-you page on Basic S2714 of 23 carriers S26€95 on Labels, €135 on Pro S65.0 (21), since 2025
Shopify ShippingShopify's S2UK, FR, DE, IT, ES, NL, PL S2Some carriers, e.g. Mondial Relay S28Not stated€0; paid in the label price S29Built in
MontonioTheirs or yours S30EE, LV, LT S30At checkout on all plans, via Parcely S31,S32Not stated€19.99 with one own carrier, plus Parcely from $3.95 S30,S32Parcely 4.6 (64), since 2019
BoxtalTheirs; yours for Colissimo and Lettre Suivie only S4Nearly 13, mainly French S4Thank-you page; checkout on Plus S33Not stated€0; paid in the label price S44.4 (44), since 2019
BaseYours, or a broker's S34140+, incl. InPost, Poczta Polska S34,S35Not statedCOD account per courier S34279 zł + 0.99 zł per order; total not stated S365.0 (18), since 2025 S39

Software fee: our arithmetic on list prices of 13 October 2026, before postage and VAT - not a total cost, since resold rates carry their margin in the label price. Ratings, review counts and launch years from each Shopify App Store listing the same day S3,S12,S13,S14,S15,S32,S33; Montonio's row shows Parcely. Sendcloud's euro prices are its annual-billing rates; its Shopify listing shows monthly billing at higher plan prices and per-label fees. S12 Product names are trademarks of their respective owners; OrderKrab is not affiliated with any of them.

A woman at a laptop checks a parcel with her phone, with boxes stacked behind her
Checking an order before it ships.

Platforms that sell you their rates

A resold-rate platform holds contracts with carriers and sells you labels under them, so you can ship the day you sign up. It earns through a subscription, a per-label fee, a margin inside the postage or a mix - and the margin is the part you cannot see. Both entries here also let you add your own contract at some tier.

Packlink PRO

From Auctane - the listing's developer is AUCTANE S.L.U. - Packlink PRO sells labels at “pre-negotiated” rates across “30+ national and international carriers”. S3 It suits a store shipping a few parcels a day from Western Europe with no contract. Its WooCommerce listing names ten countries under “Countries”: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the UK. S20

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. The free plan has no fixed fee - “you only pay for the labels you use” - so the label price is the whole bill. Plus, $29 a month (shown as €25 + VAT), adds exclusive rates, a lower admin fee and the option to “ship with one of your own carrier rates”. S3 Lockers, cash on delivery and return labels are not stated on the listing.

  • Choose it if you ship occasionally from one of those ten countries and want labels today with nothing to sign.
  • Skip it if you ship from the Baltics, Poland or the Nordics, or hold contracts with more than one carrier.

Sendcloud

Sendcloud offers “170+ carriers”, its own rates or your contract, tracking, returns and a packing workflow. S12 Its FAQ says it “fully supports shipping from” Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and the UK, and from Czechia, Denmark, Poland, Portugal and Sweden only with a direct carrier contract and an invoice address in one of those eight countries other than the UK. S1 No Baltic country and no Finland on either list.

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. Free, then, on annual billing, Lite €28 a month plus €0.10 per label, Growth €87 plus €0.09, Premium €175 plus €0.08 and Pro €639 plus €0.07. Monthly label limits are 400, 1,000, 10,000 and 30,000, and each label above them costs €0.15 more - so 1,000 labels a month is €218 on Lite and €177 on Growth, before postage. Monthly billing costs more: the Shopify listing shows per-label fees of €0.12, €0.11 and €0.10 on Lite, Growth and Premium. S12 On Free, “you can only ship using Sendcloud’s rates”. S1

Lockers, COD, returns, printing. The pricing page lists the service-point picker from Lite; the Shopify listing shows “Service points in your checkout” on Free. S1,S12 On Shopify Basic the point is chosen after payment; Grow and Advanced can show it in checkout with carrier-calculated shipping. S8 Cash on delivery needs a direct contract and works only within and between Spain, Italy and France, or from them to Portugal. S11 A branded return portal starts at Growth S1; the Print Client prints A4 or A6 labels automatically. S38

  • Choose it if you ship from a supported country and want rates on day one, with a route to your own contract later.
  • Skip it if you ship from the Baltics or Finland, or need cash on delivery outside Spain, Italy and France.

Platforms that run on your own carrier contracts

These assume a business account with each carrier: labels print on your account at your price, the carrier invoices you, and claims are between you and the carrier. The platform charges for software, not postage.

ShippyPro

Built around your contracts: “ShippyPro supports own carrier contracts on all plans, for all 190+ integrated carriers.” S5 It suits a store with contracts at several carriers in several countries. Its help centre has guides for DPD Lithuania, Lietuvos paštas and InPost Poland, each starting with credentials from your contact at the carrier. S21,S22,S23

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. Pro 2000 is $233 a month on the Shopify listing, for 2,000 shipments and up to five carrier integrations S13, with “no per-label charge ever”. S5 The listing's annual and Pro 4000 figures do not line up with that - get the quote in writing.

Lockers, COD, returns. ShippyPro says shoppers can “select pickup points at checkout” S5; which Shopify plans show that before payment is not stated. Cash on delivery is documented per carrier - “Supported for all service types” on Lietuvos paštas. S23 Return labels are listed. S13

  • Choose it if you hold contracts with several European carriers and ship in the low thousands of parcels a month.
  • Skip it if you ship a few hundred parcels a month, where the flat fee dominates, or need more than five carriers on the entry plan.

Outvio

Listed on Shopify as “Outvio Returns and Helpdesk”: returns and exchanges, a helpdesk, and shipping with “130+ carriers”. S14 It suits a store where returns and customer service weigh as much as labels. Its carriers include Omniva, Venipak, SmartPost, InPost, Poczta Polska, PostNord, Posti and Bring. S25

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. Free to install, with “Only pay per order processed”. S14 The pricing page showed no amounts we could read. You connect your own couriers: its shipping page says “Use your own shipping contracts” and states no rates of its own. S24 Pickup points show in checkout on Shopify Plus and on the thank-you page otherwise. S9

  • Choose it if you want returns, exchanges and support tickets in the same system as your labels.
  • Skip it if you want a published price before a sales call, or lockers before payment without Shopify Plus.

OrderKrab

Ours. A fulfilment platform for Shopify and WooCommerce - orders, carrier labels, barcode pick and pack, returns and a checkout locker picker. It sells no labels; every label is printed on your own contract. It suits a store packing its own orders, roughly 300 to 10,000 a month.

Pricing, as published on 8 November 2026. Per order, graduated, with no per-label fee and no margin on postage. Labels: €0.10 per order for the first 500, then €0.09, €0.08, €0.07 and €0.05, with a €10 minimum monthly invoice. Pro adds barcode Pick & Pack, mobile pick lists and analytics at €0.14 down to €0.09, with a €25 minimum. The FREE plan gives full Pro access for up to 50 orders a month. S6

Carriers, lockers, COD. 23 integrated carriers, from DHL Express, FedEx, UPS and GLS to national networks such as InPost, Royal Mail, DPD and Omniva. Twelve deliver to lockers or pickup points and 14 take cash on delivery; only DHL Express, FedEx, UPS, Nova Post, Zipas Go, Sendversal and eTonas quote live rates at checkout, and for the rest you set the price. S26 On Shopify, distance-sorted lockers in checkout need Grow on annual billing; on Basic the checkout shows fixed methods such as “Nearest parcel locker” and a thank-you-page block lets the customer pick the locker. S27 Labels print as PDF or ZPL through the PrintKrab printer bridge.

  • Choose it if you pack your own orders on your own contracts and want lockers, cash on delivery, labels, picking and returns in one system.
  • Skip it if you have no carrier contracts and want discounted rates today - we sell none; your main carrier is not on our carrier list; or you want routing by weight, value or SKU - our rules match only the checkout shipping method and the destination country.

When Shopify's built-in shipping is enough

Shopify Shipping

Labels bought in the Shopify admin on Shopify's carrier accounts, with no app and no subscription. In Europe it covers seven countries: the UK (Evri, DPD, Royal Mail, InPost UK, DHL Express Europe), France (Colissimo, Mondial Relay, Chronopost, DHL Express Europe), Germany (DHL Paket, DHL Express Europe), Italy (BRT Bartolini, Poste Italiane, DHL Express Europe), Spain (Correos, SEUR, DHL Express Europe), the Netherlands (DHL eCommerce, domestic only, and PostNL for eligible stores) and Poland (DHL eCommerce Poland, domestic and selected EU countries). S2

Pricing, lockers, returns. “Discounts for shipping labels vary based on your Shopify plan”, and return labels are only for stores whose default location is in the United States. S29 With Mondial Relay the customer can choose “Ship to pickup point” at checkout, given a French fulfilment location and billing address. S28 Cash on delivery is not stated.

  • Choose it if you ship from one of those seven countries, want its carriers and have no contract of your own.
  • Skip it if you ship from the Baltics, the Nordics, Belgium or anywhere else not listed, need domestic labels in Poland, or need return labels.

Regional specialists worth knowing

Three tools built around one market, and a weak fit outside it.

Montonio, through Parcely

Montonio sells shipping to stores sending from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. S30 On Shopify it runs through a third-party app, Parcely, which puts a map or dropdown locker picker in checkout S31 and “works with all Shopify plans (including Basic)”. S32

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. Starter, €11.99 a month, ships on “Only Montonio contracts” “from €1.99/parcel”. Core is €14.99 plus €5 per carrier per month for your own contracts; Core Flex, €39.99, includes them. S30 Montonio's contracts cover Omniva, Unisend, DPD, Latvian Post and Smartposti. S31 Parcely adds $3.95 to $19.95 a month. S32 Cash on delivery and returns are not stated.

  • Choose it if you ship from the Baltics, are on Shopify Basic, and want lockers without carrier contracts.
  • Skip it if you ship mostly outside the Baltics, or want one vendor rather than two.

Boxtal

Paris-based, per its listing S33, Boxtal sells labels at negotiated rates it calls all-inclusive - fuel and remote-area surcharges included - with “près de 13 transporteurs”, among them Colissimo, Chronopost, Mondial Relay and Relais Colis. S4

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. No subscription and no label fee: you pay only for the labels you buy. Your own contract works for Colissimo and La Lettre Suivie only; for other carriers, “nous ne pouvons pas héberger vos contrats” - Boxtal cannot host them. S4 The parcel-point map sits on the thank-you page, or in checkout on Shopify Plus, and return labels are listed. S33 Cash on delivery is not stated.

  • Choose it if you ship from France and want relay points without carrier contracts.
  • Skip it if you ship from anywhere else, or hold contracts with carriers other than Colissimo.

Base (formerly BaseLinker)

A multichannel order platform - 408 marketplace integrations S35 - that connects to Shopify through its App Store app, listed since October 2025 S39, or through a custom app you create in the admin. S37 It counts “over 140 courier integrations”: you ship on your own carrier agreements, or through a broker such as BLPaczka “without signing additional agreements”. S34 Its courier list includes InPost, Poczta Polska, ORLEN Paczka, DPD, GLS, Packeta and Omniva, the last in beta. S35

Pricing, as published on 13 October 2026. Freemium is 0 zł for up to 100 orders a month. Business is a 279 zł fixed fee plus 0.99 zł per order, net, shown against 1,000 orders a month, and the page does not say how the two combine. Labels and courier manifests print automatically. S36 A locker picker in Shopify checkout is not stated.

  • Choose it if you sell on marketplaces as well as Shopify and want every channel's orders in one queue.
  • Skip it if Shopify is your only channel and the checkout locker choice is your problem.

How to choose for your store

  1. 1

    Start from where you ship from

    Origin rules out more tools than any feature: Sendcloud fully supports eight European origin countries, Shopify Shipping seven and Montonio three, and Boxtal is built around French carriers.

  2. 2

    Decide whose contract the label goes on

    No contract and a few hundred parcels a month: resold rates get you shipping today. Contracts already, or the volume to negotiate one: pick a tool that prints on them.

  3. 3

    Name the carriers your customers pick

    In the Baltics that means Omniva, LP Express or Unisend, DPD, Venipak and Smartposti; in Poland, InPost. Check each one is integrated for your origin country, with lockers.

  4. 4

    Test the locker picker on your Shopify plan

    Ask whether it appears in checkout or on the thank-you page on your plan, then try it on a phone.

  5. 5

    Confirm cash on delivery per carrier and country

    For each carrier you will use, on the contract type you will actually ship on - Sendcloud's COD, for one, needs a direct contract. S11

  6. 6

    Price the software and the postage separately

    Add monthly, per-label or per-order fees and overage at your real volume, then compare postage on its own. Trial it on a week of real orders first.

There is no best shipping app for Europe, because there is no single European shipping market. There is a best one for where you ship from, which carriers your customers choose and whose contract you want on the label. Those three questions usually leave two or three candidates, not nine.

Questions merchants ask

Sources

Every figure on this page traces to one of the sources below, checked on 6 November 2026. Where a widely-quoted statistic could not be traced to a primary source, it was left out rather than repeated.

  1. S1Pricing - Sendcloud, checked 13 October 2026
  2. S2Requirements and considerations for buying shipping labels - Shopify Help Center, no date shown; checked 6 November 2026
  3. S3Packlink PRO Shipping Platform - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 4.8 from 928 reviews, launched 7 April 2020
  4. S4Application d'expédition multi-transporteurs pour Shopify - Boxtal, checked 13 October 2026
  5. S5ShippyPro vs Packlink (2026) - used only for ShippyPro's statements about itself - ShippyPro, checked 13 October 2026
  6. S6Pricing - OrderKrab, rate card of 8 November 2026
  7. S7Carrier-calculated shipping - Shopify Help Center, no date shown; checked 13 October 2026
  8. S8Set up service points in Shopify by plan (Basic, Grow, Advanced & Plus) - Sendcloud Help Center, updated 30 September 2026
  9. S9Enable pickup points on the map in Shopify - Outvio, checked 13 October 2026
  10. S10Cash on delivery is most used in Middle and Central European ecommerce - ECDB, 3 June 2025; share of online stores offering COD, method not described further
  11. S11Cash on delivery - Sendcloud Help Center, updated 16 September 2026; checked 5 November 2026
  12. S12Sendcloud | Shipping Platform - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 4.5 from 513 reviews, launched 29 July 2015
  13. S13ShippyPro - Shipping made easy - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 4.5 from 78 reviews, launched 7 June 2017
  14. S14Outvio Returns and Helpdesk - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 4.7 from 28 reviews, launched 1 October 2021
  15. S15OrderKrab - Pick, Pack & Ship - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 5.0 from 21 reviews, launched 30 June 2025
  16. S16ShipStation Orders & Inventory - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026
  17. S17Easyship - All in One Shipping - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026
  18. S18Shiptheory - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 5.0 from 50 reviews
  19. S19Digital integrations for eCommerce - Packeta, checked 13 October 2026
  20. S20Packlink PRO - WooCommerce Marketplace, checked 13 October 2026
  21. S21How to connect DPD LT to ShippyPro - ShippyPro Help Center, no date shown
  22. S22How to connect InPost PL to ShippyPro - ShippyPro Help Center, no date shown
  23. S23How to connect Lietuvos Paštas v2 to ShippyPro - ShippyPro Help Center, no date shown
  24. S24Shipping software - Outvio, no date shown; checked 6 November 2026
  25. S25Carrier integration software - Outvio, checked 13 October 2026
  26. S26Supported carriers - OrderKrab, checked 5 November 2026
  27. S27Smart checkout - OrderKrab, checked 13 October 2026
  28. S28Shipping with Mondial Relay - Shopify Help Center, no date shown; checked 13 October 2026
  29. S29Shopify Shipping - Shopify Help Center, no date shown; checked 13 October 2026
  30. S30Pricing - Montonio, checked 13 October 2026
  31. S31Montonio Shipping on Shopify via Parcely - Montonio Help Center, 24 August 2026
  32. S32Parcely.app - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 4.6 from 64 reviews, launched 18 September 2019
  33. S33Boxtal - Shipping solution - Shopify App Store, checked 13 October 2026: 4.4 from 44 reviews, launched 3 October 2019
  34. S34Courier accounts and printing - Base.com Help Center, no date shown
  35. S35Integrations - Base.com, checked 5 November 2026
  36. S36Cennik (price list, Poland) - Base.com, checked 13 October 2026; net prices
  37. S37Shopify - Base integration guide - Base.com Help Center, no date shown
  38. S38Print labels in one click - Sendcloud Help Center, updated 16 September 2026
  39. S39base.com - Shopify App Store, checked 5 November 2026: 5.0 from 18 reviews, launched 13 October 2025

Fulfill 50 free orders every month - carriers, labels and returns included.

Start for free